123 East 63rd Street
Trowbridge & Livingston
Upper East Side Historic District
A Beaux-Arts style stable and artist studio building designed by Trowbridge & Livingston and built in 1899-1900 and altered in 1953 for use as a private club. Application is to install a sidewalk canopy.
CB8 Hearing: 08/15/16 (Approved)
LPC Hearing: 09/13/16 (Approved)
One of the more elaborate carriage houses on the Upper East Side, this building is unique in that it was originally built as a mixed-use design. The building held both carriages and the studio of noted artist, John White Alexander. Thus, this combined design led to a wonderfully distinguished building which stands out along the street. While some members of our Preservation Committee felt that such a large awning diminishes from the architectural features of the building, given the precedent for an awning here and the building’s longtime use as a private institution, FRIENDS can support this application.